Team Membership

In 2010, the NNADAP Renewal Leadership Team was formed in order to support the meaningful and ongoing implementation of Honouring Our Strengths: A Renewed Framework to Address Substance Use Issues among First Nations People in Canada and ensure the provision of culturally-based, culturally-relevant, and effective addictions services to First Nations in the coming years. Similar to the First Nations Addictions Advisory Panel, the Leadership Team is supported by the national partners in Renewal – Assembly of First Nations, National Native Addictions Partnership Foundation, and the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch of Health Canada.
The Team’s membership includes:

  • Carol Hopkins (Co-Chair) – National Native Addictions Partnership Foundation
  • TBD (Co-Chair) – Assembly of First Nations
  • Elder Joseph Williams – Chair, AFN Elders’ Council
  • Elder Agnes Mills – NNAPF Board Elder
  • Elder Jim Dumont – FNAAP Elder
  • Debra Dell – National Youth Solvent Abuse Program
  • Dr. Brenda Restoule – Native Mental Health Association of Canada
  • Rose Pittis – Dilico Anishinabek Family Care, ON
  • Dr. Chris Mushquash – Lakehead University, ON
  • Dr. Richard MacLachlan – Dalhousie University, NS
  • Shannelle Alexander – Kermode Friendship Society, BC
  • Dr. Colleen Anne Dell – University of Saskatchewan
  • Lynda J Roberts – Health Canada (ON Region)
  • Richard Gray – First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission
  • Gladys Kyme – Health Director, Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation, Alberta
  • Charles Nicholas – NNADAP Community-based Worker, NB
  • Tracy Antone – Chiefs of Ontario
  • Roxanne Kozak – Whiskey Jack Treatment Centre, MB
  • Diane McKay – File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council, SK
  • Yvonne Rigsby-Jones – Tsow-Tun Le Lum Treatment Centre, BC
  • Debbie Nagano — Tr’ondek Hwe’chin, Yukon
  • TBD – youth representative from the AFN Youth Council
  • TBD – northern representation (Yukon and NWT)

This post is also available in: French